Inside Counsel Announces its 2017 Transformational Leadership Awards

Inside Counsel is delighted to announce the 2017 Transformational Leadership Awards as part of the Women of Influence, Power and the Law conference held in Washington, D.C. Oct. 10-12. 2017.

The Transformational Leadership Awards celebrate global general counsel leading legal departments of Fortune 1000 companies or smaller companies that serve customers throughout the world. They lead within a complex environment of political, economic, and regulatory change. They are critical to the success of their companies as strategic advisors, thought leaders, innovators and creative problem-solvers.

The Transformational Leadership Award winners and finalists will be announced at an awards dinner on Oct. 10 at the Omni Shoreham in Washington, D.C. All short-listed honorees also receive an invitation to a members-only workshop and luncheon for general counsel to be held on Oct. 11. The day’s programming is presented by Global Leaders in Law.

The short-listed honorees are:

Category Name Title Company Location
Banking and Finance Louise Pentland Chief Business Affairs and Legal Officer PayPal San Francisco
Banking and Finance Sandie Okoro Group General Counsel World Bank DC
Banking and Finance Kelly Mahon Tullier EVP and General Counsel Visa New York
Banking and Finance Paloma del Val Tolosana General Counsel, Head of Legal Services and Corporate Secretary Fundación Microfinanzas BBVA Madrid
Banking and Finance Saskia Mermans Group General Counsel KBC Group Brussels
Banking and Finance Claudia Politanski Head of People, Legal and Corporate Affairs Itau Unibanco Sao Paulo
Banking and Finance Kate Cheetham Group General Counsel Lloyds Banking Group London
Insurance Tina Rhodes General Counsel Western Europe and Global Head of Compliance Willis Towers London
Insurance Kirsty Cooper Group General Counsel Aviva London
Insurance Audrey Boone Tillman  Chief Legal Officer Aflac Columbus, GA
Insurance Charlotte Heiss Group General Counsel RSA London
Insurance Carolyn Scobie Group General Counsel QBE Sydney
Insurance Helen Browne Group General Counsel AXA Paris
Transport & Infrastructure Janet McCarthy General Counsel Santa Fe Relo London
Transport & Infrastructure Caroline Fellenius-Omnell Group General Counsel Skanska Stockholm
Transport & Infrastructure Suzanne Rich Folsom Group General Counsel US Steel Pittsburgh
Transport & Infrastructure Dipali Talwar Group General Counsel Tata Steel Mumbai
Transport & Infrastructure Sophie Gelbert Group General Counsel Air France Paris
Transport & Infrastructure Ceyda Akbal Group General Counsel Tav Airport Holdings Istanbul
Manufacturing and Chemicals Asa Thunman Group General Counsel Sandvik Stockholm
Manufacturing and Chemicals Julie McPherson Group General Counsel Amcor Melbourne
Manufacturing and Chemicals Maryanne Lavan Group General Counsel Lockheed Martin DC
Manufacturing and Chemicals Stephanie Fougou Group General Counsel Vallourec Paris
Manufacturing and Chemicals Anne-Sophie Le Lay Group General Counsel Renault Paris
Manufacturing and Chemicals Katja Tautscher Group General Counsel Borealis Vienna
Pharma and Health Care Friederike Rotsch General Counsel Merck Frankfurt
Pharma and Health Care Winnie Bugel Group General Counsel Chr. Hansen Holdings A/S Copenhagen
Pharma and Health Care Karen Linehan Group General Counsel Sanofi Paris
Pharma and Health Care Marianne Short Group General Counsel United Healthcare Group Minneapolis
Pharma and Health Care Susan Alexander Chief Legal Officer Biogen Boston
Pharma and Health Care Sandy Leung Group General Counsel Bristol-Myers Squibb New York
Technology, Media and Telecoms Kim Rivera  Group General Counsel HP San Francisco
Technology, Media and Telecoms Kate Adams General Counsel Honeywell New York
Technology, Media and Telecoms Lori Schechter General Counsel & Chief Compliance Officer McKesson San Francisco
Technology, Media and Telecoms Amy Olli General Counsel Avaya San Francisco
Technology, Media and Telecoms Inderpreet Sawhney  Global General Counsel Infosys Bangalore
Technology, Media and Telecoms Fu Tong General Counsel Qihoo 360 Technology Beijing
Retail and Consumer Goods Jeannette Knudsen Group General Counsel Smuckers Canton, OH
Retail and Consumer Goods Siobhan Moriarty Group General Counsel Diageo London
Retail and Consumer Goods Sabine Chalmers Chief Legal Officer AB InBev New York
Retail and Consumer Goods Deborah Majoras Chief Legal Officer Procter & Gamble Cincinnati
Retail and Consumer Goods Karen Roberts Group General Counsel Walmart Fayetteville
Retail and Consumer Goods Ritva Sotamaa Group General Counsel Unilever London
Collaborative Leadership Karen Linehan  Sanofi Sanofi Paris
Collaborative Leadership Carmel Mulhern Group General Counsel Telstra Melbourne
Collaborative Leadership Amy Olli General Counsel Avaya San Francisco
Collaborative Leadership Marcy Cohen ING Holdings ING Holdings New York
Collaborative Leadership Kim Rivera  Group General Counsel HP San Francisco
Collaborative Leadership Megan Belcher General Counsel Scoular Omaha, NE
Collaborative Leadership Kate Cheetham Group General Counsel Lloyds Banking Group London
Transformative Leadership Award Kelly Mahon Tullier Group General Counsel Visa New York
Transformative Leadership Award Clare Wardle Group General Counsel Coca-Cola Enterprise Partners London
Transformative Leadership Award Gill Meller General Counsel MTR Hong Kong
Transformative Leadership Award Hilka Schneider Group General Counsel TUI Dusseldorf
Transformative Leadership Award Mitsuru Claire Chino General Counsel Itochu Corporation Tokyo
Transformative Leadership Award Sandie Okoro Group General Counsel World Bank DC
Innovative Leader's Award Maria Varsellona Group General Counsel Nokia Munich
Innovative Leader's Award Vijaya Gadde Chief Legal Officer Twitter San Francisco
Innovative Leader's Award Claudia Toussaint Group General Counsel Xylem Rye Brook, NY
Innovative Leader's Award Jacqui Irvine Group General Counsel Henderson Janus London
Innovative Leader's Award Heidi Chen Group General Counsel Zoetis Florham Park, NJ
Innovative Leader's Award Lisa Haimovitz Group General Counsel ICL Group Tel Aviv
Thought Leadership Award Juliana Marra General Counsel Zurich Argentina Buenos Aires
Thought Leadership Award Lori Schechter  General Counsel & Chief Compliance Officer McKesson San Francisco
Thought Leadership Award Aminata Kake Group General Counsel Befimmo Brussels
Thought Leadership Award Suzanne Rich Folsom Group General Counsel US Steel Pittsburgh
Thought Leadership Award Ellen Fitzsimmons Group General Counsel CSX Richmond, VA
Thought Leadership Award Janet Carrig  Group General Counsel ConocoPhillips Houston
GC of the Year Shantini Sanmuganathan Group General Counsel Singtel Singapore
GC of the Year Rena Reiss Group General Counsel Hyatt Chicago
GC of the Year Siobhan Moriarty Group General Counsel Diageo London
GC of the Year Ria Sanz Group General Counsel Anglogold Johannesburg
GC of the Year Audrey Boone Tillman Group General Counsel Aflac Atlanta
GC of the Year Janice Block Group General Counsel Kaplan Chicago
Lifetime Achievement Awards Nina Macpherson Ericsson Ericsson Stockholm
Lifetime Achievement Awards Edith Shih Group General Counsel & Board Secretary CK Hutchison Holdings Hong Kong
Lifetime Achievement Awards Amanda Harkness  General Counsel ASX Sydney

Join the Conversation

Advertisement. Closing in 15 seconds.