Smog Standards Met by Two Wisconsin Counties

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced Friday that Manitowoc and Door counties in Wisconsin have been redesignated as attainment areas under current smog standards. The agency didn't say whether the counties would still be considered attainment if the EPA adopts updated smog standards proposed in January.

Between 2006 and 2008, EPA air-quality monitors in the counties measured smog levels that met the 1997 eight-hour standard, which limits atmospheric ozone to 0.085 parts per million. The counties maintained those standards through 2009, the EPA said.

Associate Editor

Lauren Williamson

Bio and more articles

Join the Conversation

Advertisement. Closing in 15 seconds.